Indiana Capital Chronicle

 Nov. 21, 2022

Secretary of State-elect Diego Morales (above) on Monday announced a 13-person transition team — co-chaired by a former state office holder — following his easy election night victory.

A news release said the team will offer organizational and logistical support and includes individuals with decades of experience in both the public and private sectors.

“I am overwhelmed by the support I received from Hoosiers statewide during the campaign and, ultimately, on election night,” he said. “As the 63rd secretary of state, I vow to continue the legacy of the men and women who have served in the office before me, and I look forward to working with the talented team that will surround me during this transition period.”

Individuals interested in applying for a position within the new administration should send a letter of interest and their resume to

Morales has named Barnes and Thornburg Partner Bob Grand as chairman of the transition team and former Secretary of State Ed Simcox as co-chairman.

“Throughout the campaign, I witnessed Diego’s unparalleled work ethic and commitment as he made countless trips around the state to meet with voters,” said Grand. “I am confident Diego will take this drive and determination with him to the secretary of state’s office, and I am proud to serve as an adviser during this important time of transition.”

“I have known Diego for many years,” said Simcox. “He is a dedicated public servant committed to running the Indiana Secretary of State’s office the way it should be run – safeguarding elections, providing support for Hoosier business owners and continuing Indiana’s reputation of being a premier place for entrepreneurs.”

Other members of the transition team include:

  • Jim Atterholt, former Chief of Staff for Gov. Mike Pence

  • Beth Boyce, Johnson County Republican Party Chairwoman

  • Judy Buck, Indiana Republican Party, 5th District Chairwoman

  • Jesse Camacho, President at Camacho Facilities Services

  • Misty Hollis, Indiana Republican Party, 6th District Chairwoman

  • Sarah Holsapple, Founder and Principal of Holsapple Communications, LLC

  • Amanda Lowery, Jackson County Clerk and Jackson County Republican Party Chairwoman

  • Mario Massillamany, Founding Partner of MJC, LLP and Hamilton County Republican Party Chairman

  • Bill Salin III, President of FarmBelt Financial

  • Ron Turpin, Chief Financial Officer and Head of Civic Engagement at Ambassador Enterprises, LLC

  • Deborah VanDeMark, Marshall County Clerk and Marshall County Republican Party Chairwoman

Indiana Capital Chronicle is part of States Newsroom, a network of news bureaus supported by grants and a coalition of donors as a 501c(3) public charity. Indiana Capital Chronicle maintains editorial independence. Contact Editor Niki Kelly for questions:

Related Posts